This Just In

EIC Hall of Leaders Inductees Announced

eic story image

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The annual Hall of Leaders inductees were announced this week by the Events Industry Council (EIC), along with the other recipients of its annual Global Awards, which recognize leadership, innovation and social impact in the business events industry.  

The recipients of these prestigious awards will be honored on October 10, right before the start of IMEX America in Las Vegas. Registration for the awards celebration, to be held from 5:00-8:30 p.m. at ARIA Resort & Casino, is now open, and tickets can be purchased here. 

This year’s EIC Hall of Leaders recipients are: 

  • Larry Alexander, President and CEO (retired), Detroit Metro Convention & Visitors Bureau 
  • Sandy Biback, CMP Emeritus, CMM, Founder, Meeting Professionals Against Human Trafficking 
  • Dr. Krzysztof Celuch, CEO, Celuch Consulting 
  • Noor Ahmad Hamid, COO, Malaysia Convention & Exhibition Bureau
  • Bob McClintock, Executive Vice President Convention Centers, ASM Global
  • Butch Spyridon, President and CEO, Nashville Convention & Visitors Corporation.  

The six inductees join 143 previous recipients, each of whom has had a significant legacy impact on the global business events sector.  

Related. EIC Announces Inaugural 2022 Online Sustainability Certification 

The winners of this year’s Pacesetter Award, which recognizes emerging leaders whose forward thinking and innovative approach has led to ground-breaking changes that are advancing the industry today, are David Hidalgo, Show Director, IBTM Americas – RX, and Katharina Path, Marketing Manager Conventions, Frankfurt Convention Bureau. 

The winners of the Social Impact Award, which recognizes extraordinary effort in the areas of people, planet and prosperity, are Melva LaJoy Legrand, CMP, DES, CEO, LaJoy Plans and Dr. Joan Su, Ph.D., CHE, CHIA, CEM, Director of Graduate Education in Event Management / Associate Professor, Iowa State University and The Sustainable Events Forum. 

The winners of the Adaptation and Innovation Award, which recognizes the extraordinary effort on the part of an individual or organization in the areas of adaptation and innovation to ensure our industry’s relevance now and into the future, are Manolita Moore, MBA, CEM, COO, Simulocity, LLC; Terry Tsao, Chief Marketing Officer & President of Taiwan, SEMI; and Yulita Osuba, Director of Sales, Marketing, Event Management and Exhibitor Services (retired), Orange County Convention Center. 

Related. TSE Announces Women to Watch Class of 2021 

“The quality of entries for 2022 has been incredibly high,” Cathy Breden, CMP Fellow, CAE, CEM, 2022 Chair, Events Industry Council, stated. “I have personally enjoyed reading through all the submissions, all of which showcase tremendous talent and passion for our industry. A huge congratulations to all the award recipients and Hall of Leaders inductees on their achievements, and I look forward to celebrating and honouring you all at the Global Recognition Awards Celebration in October.” 

Reach Cathy Breden at (972) 687-9201 or 

TSE Data Center